Procrastination

Now before you start reading I should point out that this post is about how to overcome procrastination. It has nothing to do with environmental issues.

Lets face it. We all procrastinate. It may be having lunch, toilet stop (speaking of which…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..), or having a casual chat. Recently I attended a presentation by Dr Claire Morrison on how to overcome procrastination. I will attempt to sum up what I learnt here in as short a time as possible so you can stop procrastinating on this blog.

1) Make a list of everything you want to achieve.

2) You can never do everything you want so decide what is the most important tasks you wish to achieve

3) Set a due date for your tasks

4) Make a list of everything you need to do to achieve your original tasks

5) Do something everyday to help achieve your tasks

6) Focus on one task at a time

7) Above all…stay focused

I may or may not have slightly altered these steps to better suite me.

A quick example:

1) I want or need to get a new roommate, mow the lawn and fix the toilet upstairs.

2) I can’t do all of these in one go so I need to decide what is my top priority.  I need to get a new roommate as I can’t offered to pay the rent without the help of someone else. Also I need to mow the lawn but the grass is always going to be there. The toilet upstairs is a problem but there is another toilet in the house that I can use. I need to ask myself what task requires urgent attention and what task will have the highest consequences if it isnt complete. In this case it is getting a roommate. If I dont get a roommate then I will be kicked out of the house because I can’t afford to pay the rent.

3) This needs to happen ASAP

4) In order to get a roommate I need to put up notices. I then need to meet everyone that applies to be my new roommate. Finally I will need to get keys made for them before they move in.

Once this task is complete I can move onto the next one. However some things may stop me from completing this task (i.e. I need to wait for people to phone you to enquire about the room). Therefore i can move onto the next task while you wait for your main one to proceed.

If you find that this helps you with procrastination then I recommend the book – ‘Eat That Frog‘ by Brian Tracy – which this blog and the presentation I attended  is based on.

This entry was posted in Self-Help and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Procrastination

  1. sagehope says:

    I am glad you are posting things that are helpful to people.
    By for now

Leave a Reply

